, , , ,


Here’s an eagle’s eye view of some recent earthquakes on the island of Lombok in Indonesia. As noted, the four off-island but nearby quakes (in cyan) were all under Richter 5.0. Indonesia has thousands of these Richter 5 and Richter 6 events per year and they rarely get any attention.

Indonesia is made up of over 17,500 islands: 17,504 according to the Indonesian Coordinating Ministry for Maritime Affairs; 17,508 according to the CIA; and 18,307 according to the Indonesian National Institute of Aeronautics and Space (usually abbreviated as LAPAN). I would say it is fair to claim that just over 900 are permanently inhabited. Politically, Lombok is part of West Nusa Tenggara, and the Sumbawa peninsula on the right (= east) belongs to that province as well. Bali with some nearby islands is a province grouped with the Lesser Sunda Islands. For purposes of comparison, Bali has an area of about 5800 square kilometers (2200 square miles – slightly smaller than the state of Delaware) and a population of 4.2 million, while Lombok has an area of 4500 square kilometers (1700 square miles – a little bigger than the state of Rhode Island) and a population of 3.3 million. Bali and Lombok are the 15th and 17th largest Indonesian islands, respectively.